Innovation. That was the key word for this week’s lesson. Naturally, the thought of “have I used this freedom wisely?” and “did I make the most of the freedom granted us during this class?” After some serious thinking and revision of my blog posts and thinking about how much I learned during the semester, I think I can say yes. Firmly.

Innovation is ability to change, for the better. This is the simplest way to put it. George Couros wrote an excellent blog about becoming an innovative learner, which is not limited to students. Teachers should also focus on this, and he says so in this blog. He lays down fundamentals to be an innovator and an innovative learner. The one that stuck out to me was “I believe that my abilities, intelligence, and talents can be developed, leading to the creation of new and better ideas.” Open mindedness is imperative in learning, and I feel my personal learning project just exemplified that. My goals were met this semester…except maybe…on the procrastination aspect.

My goals for this semester with my project was simply to improve on my writing, and first and foremost actually gain confidence in myself to share that. I did that. I even shared it with the goddess of writing at our school, Hannah Clark. Mostly good things were said, but advice was given. As an innovative learner, I took all of this advice and actually used it to improve. I have a copy of her edits and the edited piece, and I’m even working on yet another revision of the first chapter of my angels and demons thingy that I don’t know what to call just yet.

As for unlearning? I needed to try to unlearn my self-hatred. This…I did not completely succeed in, but I gained enough confidence to post my writings in public, which was what I needed. Will Richardson discusses the topic of “unlearning” in a way that is kind of unnerving at first to those whose entire lives revolve around learning. “Unlearning” sounds almost as bad as the “fuck” word, that is, until you hear what he has to say. One of the things that stuck out to me was advice that I will be following throughout the summer, and ideally for the rest of my life–“We need to unlearn the idea that learning itself is an event. In this day and age, it is a continual process.” Eventually I’ll learn to love myself and my writing, and maybe I’ll get the confidence to actually call myself a writer. In the process, I’ll unlearn the self-hatred that has been instilled in me since a young age. If I’m able to actually go through with my plans, perhaps I’ll gain enough confidence to maybe one day not hate everything I touch.

As this is still something I am struggling with, it’s still something I need to unlearn. It will be an ongoing process, but I feel like I made a good start. If I follow through with this self-imposed process it will be on here, though this site will be completely remodeled to resemble something of a somewhat actual blog.

