Alright. So to all three of you that read my blog, you know that I am horrible about procrastinating, even if it’s something that I love to do. Our Digital Literacy class is no different. We were granted the opportunity to choose anything we wanted to learn about, and do it. Despite this, I found myself waiting until Sunday night to do it most weeks, and if I actually did do it earlier in the week, I wouldn’t blog about it until Sundaynight. But, you know what they say, “pressure makes diamonds.” And in my case, that’s actually….almost accurate.

Only those of you that play Borderlands 2 will get this joke.

Only those of you that play Borderlands 2 will get this joke.

I am proud to report a complete and utter success with my project, which was writing. Even after this class is finished, expect to see this blog still up and going with updates on the novel that I’m working on as a direct result of this class. It isn’t very far yet, but this summer will provide me with much more time. I’ve got ideas coming out of every pore in my body, and I ache to let it flow through my little fingertips. But! This is a message to let you all know how the project went:

Photo CC by Luis Alejandro Bernal Romero

Photo CC by Luis Alejandro Bernal Romero

The Process

was actually pretty gruelling at times. As those of you poor souls that know me in real life know, I have little to no self-esteem, and putting anything I create out there is probably a no go. Mr. McFarland is helping me get over that. It is this same person who was my tutor in my writing adventures. It started out with small assignments. He would give me a format as to how he wanted whatever I did down, such as first person, past tense, blah blah blah, you get my point, and occasionally would give me a topic, such as my happy place (which was loosely based off of a scene in How to Train Your Dragon 2. Because. Dragons. It’s also a way good movie).

I went wherever the hell I wanted with these assignments too, as he was expecting a non-fictional piece of writing. That….didn’t happen. Even a little bit. I spent much more than the two hours given a week doing these assignments because I was constantly second-guessing myself and going over the debate as to whether or not to share my shit. Which I did. Eventually.

Photo CC by Id iom

Photo CC by Id iom

The Blogging

was probably actually the hardest part for me. I knew eventually I would have to share what I did in order to prove that I was actually doing the assignments, which I actually was doing. So that was one thing I wrestled with. A lot. I did not want anyone reading my shit under any circumstances. Ever. I knew this would have to change if I wanted to improve. I’ve got a few binders/notebooks full (okay, maybe more like a hundred) full of my old writings from when I was a kid and whenever I could lock myself up in my room to write, but I knew that it was all pretty shitty. So, I refused to share it.

But how can I expect to do well if I don’t put it out there?

I can’t. That’s how. I needed other’s inputs. And that’s where this magical place called the Internet comes in. I eventually broke down and decided to start putting up a few of my exercises. Not all of them, mind you, but the ones I thought were part way adequate.

Photo CC by Gary Cruz. Because. You know. Sharing is Caring.

Photo CC by Gary Cruz. Because. You know. Sharing is Caring.

Sharing is Caring

Fully aware that the Internet is a dangerous place to put sub par things into, I decided to go through my editor. One piece in particular I was really proud of, and that was the demon piece featured a couple blogs back. The concept is fun to write about, it actually gets people wondering about themselves. Which is perfect. Naturally, I wanted some of those folks who are close to my heart to read it first. Mister McFarland was the first of these options, but he suggested going a step further and had me show it to a Miss Clark, who is worshiped as a goddess in the literature department.

Oddly enough, she loved it.

She wanted me to continue writing it, and I enjoy it enough, I think I’m going to.

Photo CC by Roger

Photo CC by Roger

The Results

The results were as anticipated. I grew as a writer. There’s no denying that. I got by with a little help from my friends, but that’s the way to do it in the writing world. You can’t improve unless you know what exactly it is that you’re fucking up. The way that I write my blogs, for instance, is not at all how I would write my stories now. It didn’t used to be like that.

I was very repetitive.

I was very repetitive.

And I learned to break that. I also learned how to form sentence structure to where it wasn’t exactly how it talked. Putting my voice in there doesn’t necessarily mean writing exactly how I talk. Though, I’m not gonna lie, my blogs are exactly like that.

Actually sitting down to write was hard too. I couldn’t just wait for inspiration. I had my times where I had to sit down and actually force myself to write. And it worked. It created diamonds. I’m actually very proud of where this project took me. And I don’t intend to stop.

And now. The weather.

