diglit

From Illinois.edu

It’s hard to define something that is constantly evolving. Google, something of a main tool, has provided me with information about it, but it has also told me that is constantly changing. The first page brought up was Wikipedia, and as much as teachers hate it when students use Wikipedia, I find it to be a good source for quick searches as to what to expect. Personally, I start off with Wikipedia most of the time. What I found is that there is a definition, but that it is changing as I had mentioned before. The meaning began with stand-alone computers. One who was digitally literate was one who was good at a computer.

However, times are-a-changin’ and those who don’t know how to use e-mails are getting left behind. Digital literacy, to me (as well as most of the Internet it looks like), encompasses anything from Instagram to Pintrist, Facebook to Twitter, Word Press and Tumblr to  Sakai. One who knows their way around the Internet has the world at their finger tips. It’s important to acknowledge this power and use it wisely f you want to succeed. If you don’t know your way around the Internet, you are bound to have a hard time.

In our education system, many teachers tell us to put away our laptops and phones, not realizing how useful they really are. They are perfect for note taking, and work really well in the class room for quick facts about just about anything. The government is already aboard the digital literacy campaign, offering several sites on the topic. Several colleges, such as our very own Chadron State, offers it as a class. It’s a war between the pen and the keyboard. Which is more useful? It’s hard to say, but we know which one is winning in popularity. Digital literature is the future, and it’s imperative to embrace it. This guy knows what he’s talking about.

In the classroom, I can see digital literacy being useful, and not just in a digital literacy class. Last semester, I was expected to Tweet responses to different works that we had read in English Literature, and I found that I learned more in that class than I did in most other classes I have ever taken. The different Tweets posted spawned conversation and discussion, a very Socratic way of taking on the class. Blogging about various other things I have read further engrains it into my brain, and enables others to see into my messed up way of thinking.

As to my own thoughts about it, as you can see, I think it’s necessary. However, I am technologically impaired. When taking that last class, for instance, I had never Tweeted before or blogged. I didn’t like sharing my thoughts on the Internet, but now I see how valuable it really is. What I’d like to learn this semester is how to get more…literate…when it comes to anything technological. I want to be able to make my blogs fairly interesting and well-put-together.

And now…for something completely different.

