Okay. So. I obviously need to do this more often as I have (still) only one post up on my site. I have done quite a bit of reading, and my life has been quite hectic. The past few weeks have been crazy, but I’m starting to maybe get a hold of my life. The problem is this: I don’t like posting my thoughts. You get me face to face and sure, I will tell you my thoughts and feelings like crazy. However, when it comes to writing, that shit is personal.

Today I will talk about Boxers!
Image

This is a graphic novel by (no shit here, if you couldn’t tell from the picture) Gene Luen Yang. I’m not gonna lie. It pissed me off. But we’ll get to that later. It’s about a young boy (Little Bao) in late nineteenth century China, when the white folks, “white devils,” came to China with the intent on converting the Chinese people to Christianity. Many did convert, but others were resistant, and this graphic novel follows those were resistant. The resistant harnessed the power of the Chinese gods and begin to travel the countryside destroying all of the “white devils” and the “secondary devils” or Chinese folk who have converted. The book, despite its simple cartoony appearance can be very brutal at times, and makes you wonder who exactly is the “good guy.” Everything is in color and it’s a fast read. The illustrations are beautiful and somewhat metal.

As seen here:
Image

And here:
Image

(You can guess her end)

And also here:
Image

These are just a few examples of the brutal awesomeness in this book. It’s riveting, I’m not gonna lie. But what made me want to throw the copy that Dr. Ellington so gracefully lent to me against the wall is the fact that it is a cliffhanger. It ends on a not so happy note seemingly right in the middle of a battle and you have no idea who wins or who loses. I’ll have to ask if I can borrow the second of the duo, Saints, so I don’t have to be so pissed at Mr. Yang for leaving me in suspense.

